

# Committee on Information Technology

# Office of the City Administrator

San Francisco City Hall, 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Suite 352

## **Draft Minutes**

# **Committee on Information Technology Meeting**

Thursday, October 15, 2020 10:00 am – 12:00 pm WebEx event

#### **Members**

Naomi Kelly, City Administrator, Chair
Linda Gerull, Chief Information Officer, Department of Technology
Kelly Kirkpatrick, Budget Director, Mayor's Office
Norman Yee, President, Board of Supervisors
Ben Rosenfield, Controller
Carol Isen, Acting Director, Department of Human Resources
Grant Colfax, Director, Department of Public Health
Harlan L. Kelly, Jr., Director, Public Utilities Commission
Michael Lambert, City Librarian, Public Library
Mary Ellen Carroll, Director, Department of Emergency Management
Ivar Satero, Director, San Francisco International Airport
Jeffry Tumlin, Director, Municipal Transportation Agency
Trent Rhorer, Executive Director, Human Services Agency
Charles Belle, Public Member
Nnena Ukuku, Public Member

# 1. Call to Order by Chair

Ms. Naomi Kelly called the meeting to order at 10:02 am.

#### 2. Roll call

## **Members Present**

Naomi Kelly
Linda Gerull
Ashley Groffenberger (for Kelly Kirkpatrick)
Jen Low (for Norman Yee)
Todd Rydstrom (for Ben Rosenfield)
Kate Howard (for Carol Isen)
Eric Raffin (for Dr. Grant Colfax)
Ken Salmon (for Harlan Kelly)
Maureen Singleton (for Michael Lambert)
Michelle Geddes (for Mary Ellen Carroll)
Rene Leedeman (for Ivar Satero)

Lisa Walton (for Jeffrey Tumlin) Charles Belle Nnena Ukuku

#### **COIT Staff**

Matthias Jaime Emma Fernandez Luke O'Neill

**Guests** 

Guests		
Ken Bukowski	Eddie Gardner	Kirk Kirkpatrick
Jennifer Monnet	Eddie Whitfield	Lovely Lindsley
Andy Maimoni	Gerald Villabroza	Manny Fernands
Ann Marie Monroe	Grace Ybanez	Mathew Larson
Carla Picasso	Ian Hart	Michael Bahler
Carrie Bishop	Jacqueline Piccini	Michael Solomon
Carson Chin	Jade Wong-Angelastro	Mike Dougherty
Catherine McGuire	Jane Lim	Paul Brennan
Caylin Wang	Jason Lally	Philip Regnier
Chinna Subramaniam	Jerry Burdick	Robert Collins
Crispin Hollings	Jo-Ann Hutchison-Hill	Stanley Krochik
Dale Riley	John Reinecke	Taraneh Moayed
Daniel Hopkins	Kathy Perez	Will Sanson-Mosier
Dale Huebner	Keith Kawas	

## 3. Approval of Meeting Minutes from September 17, 2020 (Action Item)

Mr. David Pilpel made public comment to approve of the minutes.

The minutes were approved without changes.

#### 4. Chair Update

No chair update.

# 5. CIO Update

Chief Information Officer Linda Gerull provided an update on the Department of Technology's work to support the November election.

# 6. FY 2022-26 Information and Communication Technology (ICT) Plan Update

COIT Director Matthias Jaime provided an update on the results of the Citywide Service Inventory. A total of 966 public facing services were reported, 93 of which are paused due to COVID-19. 194 services are designed to be accessible on a mobile device.

Mr. David Pilpel made public comment to note that consideration of people who have limited digital proficiency is needed in designing city services and to ask about the location of February department budget submissions.

## 7. Discussion: Department of Technology Shared Services Strategy

Chief Information Officer Linda Gerull provided an update on the Department of Technology's services to support departments. Ms. Gerull highlighted network and connectivity; cybersecurity and alert monitoring; data infrastructure, servers, and cloud; enterprise applications; business productivity and communication; and Office of Civic Innovation services available to all departments.

Mr. David Pilpel made public comment to suggest additional oversight on shared services, revision of the cost allocation models, and improvement of the telecom migration to the Permit Center.

## 8. Policy Update: Green Technology Purchasing Policy (Action Item)

Jennifer Monnet from the Department of the Environment presented the revised Green Technology Purchasing Policy to reflect updates in the current EPEAT standards. The City won an EPEAT purchasing award in 2020, and overall has a roughly 80% compliance rate with EPEAT purchasing.

Mr. David Pilpel made public comment to suggest adding context on the amount of city spending and language about disposal of retired equipment to the policy.

After discussion, members voted to continue this item to the next meeting.

#### 9. Public Comment

Mr. David Pilpel made public comment to note the fragmented experience with public City wifi networks and suggested coordinating between the various networks.

Mr. Paul Brennan made public comment to offer support to the city.

#### 10. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 11:34 am.