

Committee on Information Technology

Office of the City Administrator

San Francisco City Hall, 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Suite 352

Draft Minutes

Committee on Information Technology Meeting

Thursday, October 17, 2019 10:00 am – 12:00 pm City Hall, Room 305

Members

Naomi Kelly, City Administrator, Chair
Linda Gerull, Chief Information Officer, Department of Technology
Kelly Kirkpatrick, Budget Director, Mayor's Office
Norman Yee, President, San Francisco Board of Supervisors
Ben Rosenfield, Controller
Micki Callahan, Director, Department of Human Resources
Dr. Grant Colfax, Director, Department of Public Health
Michael Lambert, City Librarian, Public Library
Harlan L. Kelly, Jr., General Manager, Public Utilities Commission
Mary Ellen Carroll, Director, Department of Emergency Management
Ivar Satero, Director, San Francisco International Airport
Tom Maguire, Director, Municipal Transportation Agency
Trent Rhorer, Executive Director, Human Services Agency
Charles Belle, Public Member
Nnena Ukuku, Public Member

1. Call to Order by Chair

Mr. Ken Bukowski called the meeting to order at 10:02 am.

2. Roll call

Members Present

Ken Bukowski (for Naomi Kelly)
Michael Makstman (for Linda Gerull)
Anna Duning (for Kelly Kirkpatrick)
Todd Rydstrom (for Ben Rosenfield)
Crystal Chang (for Trent Rhorer)
Angela Cavillo (for Norman Yee)
Ian Law (for Ivar Satero)
Lisa Walton (for Tom Maguire)
Mitch Sutton (for Mary Ellen Carroll)
Eric Raffin (for Dr. Grant Colfax)
Nnena Ukuku
Ian Hart (for Micki Callahan)

Ken Salmon (for Harlan Kelly) Maureen Singleton (for Michael Lambert)

COIT Staff

Matthias Jaime Emma Fernandez Claire Navarro-Silver

Guests

Cliff Raynes	Sunny Lakhmani	Gerald Villabrozd
Martin Spellman	Bijan Karimi	Grace Ypolawet
Andy Velasquez	Stanley Krechik	Eric Raffin
Jennifer DiPasquale	Michael Bahler	Alan Tse
Ramsey Williams	Georg Wolfl	Brian Roberts
Dan Rozzano	Daniel Hopkins	Dale Riley
Brad Bakar	J Tyrns	Andy Maimoni
Pamela Levin	Taraneh Moayed	Will Sanson-Mosier
	Nahron Dand	Ayela Calutlo

3. Approval of Meeting Minutes from September 19, 2019 (Action Item)

The minutes of September 19, 2019 were approved without changes.

4. Chair Update

Mr. Ken Bukowski introduced new COIT staff member Emma Fernandez.

5. CIO Update

No updates.

6. Discussion: Overview of COIT Budget Process & Criteria

Mr. Matthias Jaime presented COIT's timeline and evaluation criteria for reviewing technology project requests over \$100,000.

7. Citywide Cybersecurity: Program Update

Mr. Michael Makstman presented on the development of the city's cybersecurity program, including governance, people, procurement and investment, services and tools, and unified cyber command.

Mr. Bijan Karimi provided an update on the collaboration between the Department of Technology and the Department of Emergency Management for a unified cyber emergency response plan.

8. Policy Update: Citywide Cybersecurity Policy (Action Item)

Mr. Jaime presented recommended modifications to the Citywide Cybersecurity Policy as a matter of regular policy review.

Member discussion followed and it was determined that members will review and provide feedback before bringing a vote on modifications at the next meeting.

9. Policy Update: Cybersecurity Training & Awareness Standard (Action Item)

Mr. Jaime presented recommended modifications to the Cybersecurity Training & Awareness Standard to create a partnership with the Department of Human Resources. He proposed bringing a vote on modifications at the next meeting after working with the Department of Human Resources on implementation of the changes.

Member discussion followed and it was determined that an action item will be brought to the next meeting.

10. Public Comment

No public comment.

11. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 11:02 am.