Committee on Information Technology - September 21, 2017 - Minutes

Meeting Date: 
September 21, 2017 - 10:00am
United States

Thursday, September 21, 2017
10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place
City Hall, Room 305

Naomi Kelly, City Administrator, Chair
Linda Gerull, Chief Information Officer, Department of Technology
Melissa Whitehouse, Budget Director, Mayor’s Office
London Breed, President, San Francisco Board of Supervisors
Ben Rosenfield, Controller
Micki Callahan, Director, Department of Human Resources
Barbara Garcia, Director, Department of Public Health
Luis Herrera, City Librarian, Public Library
Harlan L. Kelly, Jr., General Manager, Public Utilities Commission
Anne Kronenberg, Director, Department of Emergency Management
Ivar Satero, Director, San Francisco International Airport
Edward D. Reiskin, Director, Municipal Transportation Agency
Trent Rhorer, Executive Director, Human Services Agency
Charles Belle, Public Member
Alex Polvi, Public Member
1. Call To Order

Mr. Kenneth Bukowski called the meeting to order at 10:04 a.m.

2. Roll Call
Members Present:

Kenneth Bukowski (for Naomi Kelly)
Linda Gerull
Melissa Whitehouse
Kayleigh Lloyd (for London Breed)
Ben Rosenfield
Micki Callahan
Winona Mindolovich (for Barbara Garcia)
Michael Liang (for Luis Herrera)
Ken Salmon (for Harlan Kelly)
Mitch Sutton (for Anne Kronenberg)
Ian Law (for Ivar Satero)
Ed Reiskin
Dan Kalamaras (for Trent Rhorer)
Alex Polvi

COIT Staff:
Alex Banh
Jacalyn Mah
Lily Liang
Matthias Jaime

Guests Present:

Anita Cheng
Bill Joe
Brian Roberts
Carrie Bishop
Daniel Quach
Elissa Koestenbaum
Michael Solomon
Rand Miyashiro
Georg Wolfl
John Monolakis
K. Perez
Larry Wolfson
Lawrence Chew
Leon Rountree
Lloyd Chourappa
Carrie Bishop
Rey Buzon
Rich Bogen
Riker McClaskey
Sherman Luk
Tim Rodriguez
Tony Lawrence
Will Sanson-Mosier

3. Approval of Meeting Minutes from May 5, 2017 (Action Item)

The minutes of May 5, 2017 were approved.

4. Chair Update

Mr. Bukowski introduced Ms. Linda Gerull, the City’s new Chief Information Officer and Director of the Department of Technology (DT).
5. CIO Update

Ms. Gerull thanked Mr. Bukowski and City colleagues for their warm welcome. She then discussed her background, initial thoughts on DT’s direction, strategic planning, priority projects, and COIT initiatives.

6. COIT Policy Update: Review and Removal of Existing COIT Policies (Action Item)

Mr. Matthias Jaime discussed COIT’s policy development and outreach efforts over the last year, highlighted policies that were adopted by the Committee, and noted several upcoming policy priorities.

Mr. Jaime then reviewed the following policies with members, with the recommendation that all five be sunset:
1. Security Policy
2. Project Management Methodology Policy Communication Strategy
3. Environmentally Preferable Purchasing Requirements for Personal Computers and Servers
4. Green Information Technology Procurement Policy
5. Website Policy

A general discussion followed and a motion was passed and approved to sunset policies #1, #2, and #5. A consensus was also reached to revisit policies #3 and #4, and replace the two policies with one updated policy.

To view the full text of these policies, please visit

7. Program Update: Digital Services

Ms. Carrie Bishop provided an overview of the office’s purpose and priorities, its background, strategies and techniques, relevant case studies, and examples of service re-design and impact seen so far. In addition, she discussed key projects and initiatives, organizational changes, her team’s work plan, and capacity building efforts currently underway and going forward. Notably, Ms. Bishop encouraged all departments to engage with her team and welcomed comments and feedback.

8. Program Update: Digital Inclusion

Mr. Alex Banh, COIT’s Digital Inclusion Officer, provided an overview of digital inclusion, data collection, and related outreach efforts thus far. Notably, he highlighted work being undertaken with service providers as well as partnerships and pilot programs slated to begin in early 2018.

A general discussion followed in which members considered the populations and needs being addressed, as well as potential partners and next steps.

9. Public Comment

There was no public comment.

10. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 11:21 a.m.