Architecture and Policy Sub-Committee

The Architecture Subcommittee of the COIT is responsible for advising the Committee on all issues relating to the City's technology architecture.


Flavio Aggio - Co-Chair, Chief Technology Officer, Technology
Julia Dawson - Co-Chair, Deputy Director, Public Works
Dale Riley – Director, Information Services, City Attorney
Mike Dearman – Director, Financial Systems Replacement, Controller’s Office
Eugene Clendinen – Chief Administrative & Financial Officer, District Attorney
Michelle Geddes – Program Manager, Emergency Management
Jesus Mora –IT Manager, Fire Department
Norm Goldwyn – IT Director, General Services Agency
Jay Nath - Chief Innovation Officer, Mayor’s Office
Hoppers – IT Manager, MTA
Susan Merritt –CIO, Police
Susan Kearney –CIO, Port
Bill Kim –CIO, Public Health
Ken Salmon –CIO, Public Utilities Commission
Ephrem Naizghi - Chief Information Officer, Public Works
Ian Law – CIO, San Francisco Airport
Tajel Shah – Deputy Director, Treasurer-Tax Collector
Chanda Ikeda - COIT Analyst, Mayor’s Office

Areas of Responsibility

  • Ensure that the City has a technology architecture plan that identifies the major tiers of technology required to support the City.
  • Ensure that enterprise standards are developed, implemented and maintained


  • Develop an enterprise architecture
  • Manage the review of candidate projects and assess project alignment with the enterprise architecture.
  • Assesses each proposed investment for compliance with the architecture.
  • Report conclusions and provides recommendations to the COIT.
  • Determine and document the results and the accompanying rationale for actions.
  • Approve a waiver only if the impacts of the lack of alignment are understood and acceptable.

Agendas & Minutes

Architecture Charter